Tuesday, April 21, 2015

Waiting on Wednesday

"Waiting on Wednesday" is a weekly meme hosted by Jill at Breaking the Spine. It lets us all gush about what soon-to-be released books we are jumping-up-and-down excited for.
by Micol Ostow, illustrations by David Ostow

hitting shelves October 13th, 2015 
from Soho Teen
Seventeen-year-old Winnie Flynn, a closet horror fan with a starkly realistic worldview, has never known her mom’s sister, Maggie: a high-profile reality TV producer. But in the wake of her mother’s suicide, Winnie is recruited by Maggie to spend a summer in New Jersey, working as a production assistant on her current hit: Fantastic, Fearsome. At first Winnie figures that she has nothing to lose; her father has checked out, and Maggie is the only family she has left. But things get increasingly weird on set as Winnie is drawn into a world of paranormal believers and non-believers alike. Soon she learns a paranormal ability of her own: she can psychically detect lies. The things she discovers threaten her plan to stay under the radar, and may provide clues to her mother’s death.

Told as an ongoing letter to a friend, with illustrations that offer clues throughout, Winnie’s story is both a heartrending mystery and a pop culture critique in the vein of Libba Bray’s Going Bovine and Beauty Queens—supplemented with illustrations throughout that recall the quirky, dark, and distinct aesthetics of Ransom Riggs’s Miss Peregrine’s Home for Peculiar Children.

My thoughts:
I just met this lovely author and heard about this book and it sounds so awesome.  Plus, I'm a sucker for YA books with illustrations. ;)

6 comments :

  1. ChristinaBookAddictApril 22, 2015 at 5:12 AM

    Wow! This one sounds really unique and is new to me. Thanks for putting it on my radar. I love a YA book with illustrations as well and since it's in the vein of Libba Bray, it sounds like a must read to me! Great pick!

    ReplyDelete
  2. This sounds interesting. Added it to my list. I hope you like the book! Check out my WoW!

    ReplyDelete
  3. This is so interesting! I am going to add this to my TBR pile. X3


    Thanks for stopping by.

    ReplyDelete
  4. This sounds so interesting, I will have to add it to my TBR!
    Missie @ A Flurry of Ponderings

    ReplyDelete
  5. I really like the cover but I'm not sold on the synopsis. It does sound interesting so I'll have to watch out for it.

    ReplyDelete
  6. HUH. I'm definitely curious! I do love YA with illustrations, too, though. :D

    ReplyDelete